Posted by: lifeinthelevant | March 2, 2009

Settling in to Tel Aviv-Yafo…

It has been hectic and fun – here are some pictures to tell the story…

dsc00387-p20

Parking is a huge problem in Tel Aviv! Mere hours into my time here, I witness an all-too-common tow-away. While parking is hard to find, public transportation is excellent and nearly all necessities are a walkable distance away.

img_0034-p20

That’s an apartment where I spent my first few days in Israel with Itay (pronounced ee-tai), an Israeli friend – he was an awesome guide to Tel Aviv and helped me get settled very quickly! Most of the population lives in apartments like this one with around 8 units in each mixed-use building (hence the law office in the picture).

img_0037-p20

I walked around a lot on my first day in Tel Aviv and guess what I ran into – the Indian Embassy! Not what I expected at all šŸ™‚




img_0038-p20

OK, just kidding! This is the actual Indian Embassy – not sure what the dilapidated building was doing next to it…







Finding an apartment can be a huge challenge in Tel Aviv. So, I was real glad to find this place. The location is perfect since it’s very close to the Ulpan (Hebrew school) where I’ll be spending many hours a day if I have any hope of learning Hebrew. It should be my home till the end of March at least. After that, the rent can increase dramatically thanks to all the “rich American tourists” visiting in the summer!

There, now, I feel settled! I have WiFi, a cell phone, and even an apartment – what more can I need šŸ˜‰ That’s all for now folks!

Responses

  1. Is that thick leather jacket necessary in Tel Aviv?
    The place looks very nice.
    I’ve heard driving in Israel can be … creative (it’s fine to go the wrong way on a one-way street as long as you’re backing up).

  2. Hey Jeff,

    Thanks for the blog and the pictures. Looks really nice and good to get a glimpse of the Biblical spots. Very neat apartment. I see on your coffee table you have a couple remotes and a tube of toothpaste. Just make sure you don’t squeeze the toothpaste to change the channels šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

